A New Series! Anthropology Blogging 101

The Geek Anthropologist

By Marie-Pierre Renaud

When I created The Geek Anthropologist (TGA) in September 2012, I started to familiarize myself with the small world of anthropology blogs. I was surprised by how little online visibility our discipline enjoyed. And yet, perhaps one of the reasons why that was and still is the case can be underlined in the very first sentence I wrote above: indeed, before I started my own anthropology blog, I had never thought to read one.

During my first year of blogging, I tried to recruit friends and colleagues to contribute to TGA and turn it into a community blog. I knew several people who had written anthropological papers or a thesis about topics related to geek culture. I was enthusiastic about the idea of publishing posts in both English in French, the latter being my mother tongue and the language other students in my department at Laval University…

View original post 1,594 more words

Leave a Reply

